PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] KDE, change icons on Desktop Folder

VMC
December 21st, 2009, 11:09 PM
I'm fairly new to KDE4 and have googled without success.

How do I change icons on Desktop Folder?(That is the square box that is at the upper left of my Desktop.)

I have several shortcuts I want to change to match what they are.

I thought I was able to change, but what I ended up changing was the icon for the programs themselves.

I have attached the Desktop Folder in question.

garryknight
December 22nd, 2009, 12:12 AM
Right-click the icon, click Properties, then click the icon to the left of the name. Then look through the lists of available icons until you find the one you want.

VMC
December 22nd, 2009, 02:42 AM
Right-click the icon, click Properties, then click the icon to the left of the name. Then look through the lists of available icons until you find the one you want.

Thanks for the replay, but apparently KDE doesn't work that way. Gnome works fine doing that.

Zorael
December 22nd, 2009, 04:58 AM
How did you create those links?

If you pick Link to Application from the right-click context menu, and then point it to the app you want, it creates a .desktop file from scratch and you can change the icon freely.

VMC
December 22nd, 2009, 07:27 AM
How did you create those links?

If you pick Link to Application from the right-click context menu, and then point it to the app you want, it creates a .desktop file from scratch and you can change the icon freely.

Thanks for reply. Here's what I found out. Google-chrome had a file that I linked to. I could also right-click and change icon. I also found konsole that I could right-click and change. It was found at "/usr/share/applications/kde4/konsole.desktop". Any executable found at "/usb/bin" or any other bin would not allow right-click change icons. I'm still trying to find one for xterm.

Strange, as with Ubuntu Gnome , I can almost always just right-click anything that I created a link to.

===