PDA

View Full Version : I have my first blog story... Is desktop Linux adoption stuck in a rut?

matthekc
December 21st, 2009, 02:44 AM
It kind of goes along with my keeping track of usage stats here.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=907469

I talk about the fact that I think desktop Linux adoption is stalled and what we can do to fix it.

As some have pointed out it's almost spam like to direct you to my blog to read what I want to talk about here, so I present (drum roll) the article...

I want to discuss the reasons I believe Linux adoption may be stalled and how we as impassioned Linux users can help give it a push. I have been using desktop Linux since 2006 and I have to say from a usability standpoint, the improvements could be described as revolutionary. However, the adoption rate has not followed suit and has appeared to have nearly halted. Which groups can the current desktop Linux offerings reach and how can we appeal to these users?

As of fall 2009, sites such as the W3 counter and Net Applications show that the Linux market share statistics have been frozen since early 2008. Which is surprising because Linux can handle plenty of computer usage cases as good as, or better than Windows. There are many people with specific application or device support needs and they cannot be converted yet. That doesn't mean you can't help them find new open source applications to improve their computing experience, thus making them receptive of open source and Linux in the future. There are also computer users who just need a nudge to convert to Linux. Who are those people and how do we reach them?