PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Need to install software

Randymanme
December 20th, 2009, 04:04 AM
I'm a Linux newbie and don't know how to do a lot of things. Five months ago, I asked a friend at FreeGeek Columbus to delete the extaneous operating systems from my computer just leaving the one I used, and he accidently deleted them all. “No problem,” I said, “I'll just reinstall when I get home.”

But everytime I try to reinstall K/Ubuntu, I get an error message saying
Installation Failed
The installer encountered an error copying files to the hard disk:
[errno 5] Input/output error
. . .

That happens with four Ubuntu installation Cds, three live Ubuntu Cds, one Kubuntu live CD, and one Fedora live CD. I suppose there's a problem with my DVD rom. PCLinuxOS and openSUSE, however, do install, so those are what I've been using (I've only recently ceased with openSUSE, for the time being).

Today, however, I got lucky trying out something different. I used an Ubuntu 9.04 alternative CD (not live as they abort when they come to the input/output error message) to install the base system and grub with lvm. It allows me skip over software installation which is where the input/output error message happens. It boots to a command line. I don't know what commands to use to get the software to install from a mirror, or how to install repositories from the command line.

Will someone help me out here? I've never had Kubuntu, per se (only Ubuntu with the KDE desktop); so since PCLinuxOS GNOME 2010 (a rolling distro) is more stable and polished than Ubuntu 9.10, I'd like to fill my base system out with Kubuntu software.

Any and all help and direction would be very much appreciated. By the way; 10 months ago, I didn't know what an operating system was and had no clue about even the notion of free source technology. For me, computing started with Hardy Heron and I really miss Ubuntu. Please help me get home. :P

sgosnell
December 20th, 2009, 05:15 AM