PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to burn DVDs in Karmic

sarayuvijay
December 19th, 2009, 04:15 PM
Like I said in my other posts I am new to Ubuntu and the initiation has not been a smooth ride. Problems not withstanding I am enjoying using Ubuntu. One of the few remaining unsolved problems is that I am unable to burn DVDs in Brassero. I couldn't while I was using Jaunty and hoped that after upgrade to Karmic this issue might get resolved but it did'nt. My Brassero version is 2.28.2. Whatever type of disc I use whether DVD +R or DVD RW the results are the same. When I try with Brassero the first few steps go ok. then I get an error message stating "please replace the disc with a supported cd or DVD. It is not possible to write with the current set of plugins".
When I try with cd/dvd creator and click on write to disc I see a window titled "Burning Data DVD" and below that a bar moving endlessly across the window titled "creating checksum for image files". Nothing happens after that.
Can somebody please help in fixing this problem.
Thanks
Sarayuvijay

rburkartjo
December 19th, 2009, 04:20 PM
sara try using the k3b program

joes7
December 19th, 2009, 04:20 PM
Download an Open Source CD Burner such as Alcohol 120%.

Extract_Here
December 19th, 2009, 04:43 PM
+1 for alcohol 120%

ankspo71
December 20th, 2009, 02:38 AM
Hi,
Have you tried disabling all available plugins in Brasero? Have you tried any other cd burner programs? Ubuntu has several to choose from in the repositories. K3b, gnomebaker, xfburn just to name a few of the bigger ones. Switching burning programs has helped alot of people who had trouble burning. Also, you could try burning another cd by launching ' brasero ' from the terminal to see if it reports any errors. It's never hurts to check, and if it does report errors, at least you'll have some error info that can help solve the problem.