PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Asus P4B + Karmic Koala

Ubidia
December 19th, 2009, 01:34 PM
I'm a newbie but I've already installed 9.04 as parallel intallation on my machine twice without any problem.
Now I tried on a friend's machine with a Asus P4B Mobo and failed.
The installation do run, but when restarting I get "GRUB_" and that's it.
Somewhere I read that sometimes could take up to 5 Minutes on a old machine for Grub to start, so I waited well above 5 min to no avail.
I tried the parallel installation and than Ubuntu Karmic Koala alone.
Windows XP do work as work a Ubuntu Live CD.
I tried creating the partitions myself (I follow the instructions found somewhere on the net - could I possibly have done something wrong with it) since I read somewhere that could be a problem with Linux unable to read after the 1024 cylinders.
The partitions I created were /boot little less then 1MB, /home 10GB, / 15GB and a Fat32 partition in the hope to install there later on XP.
Still got exactly the same issue.
I search the net for issues with that Mobo and Linux but I didn't find anything.

Do my friend have to give up to enjoy Ubuntu?

Are maybe other distro friendlier with such a Mobo?

After I created the partitions I just installed Ubuntu. I'm not sure if during the installation Ubuntu would install automatically the "/boot" in the /boot partition (and so on) that I created or if I have to "point" to it after the installation.

In case that could make any difference the HD is a 160GB Maxtor.

If I've forgotten some important infos, please let me know.
Thanks!

lmarmisa
December 19th, 2009, 01:51 PM
I recommend you to define 3 partitions:

Root / - 10 Gbytes.
Home /home - your choice.
swap - 2x the size of your RAM memory.

Best regards,

Luis

Ubidia
December 19th, 2009, 02:02 PM
I recommend you to define 3 partitions:

Root / - 10 Gbytes.
Home /home - your choice.
swap - 2x the size of your RAM memory.

Best regards,

Luis
Hallo Luis,

thanks for your reply!