PDA

View Full Version : Any Legal Issues with use of Ubuntu Linux?

kubc
February 25th, 2006, 01:48 AM
I have a question about legal & licensing issues with bundling Ubuntu Linux with our own hardware and software for comercial purpose. What we want to do is to install Ubuntu on each of our customerly-built boxes together with our own application software for sale. We are basically not selling Ubuntu Linux even though it will be used as the operating system.

I'm wondering if there are any legal restrictions involved in doing this. I would appreciate very much any suggestions and comments.

Thanks.

Stormy Eyes
February 25th, 2006, 01:54 AM
As far as I know, you are welcome to do this. You might want to contact Canonical, Ltd. to be sure, though, as I do not work for Canonical and I am not a lawyer.

mstlyevil
February 25th, 2006, 01:58 AM
As long as you do not add the proprietary software or codecs without proper licensing then it should be perfectly legal. If you have customers that want those things then you need to sell them Xandros or Linspire preloaded on the boxes as a option. You should make it clear why there is a price difference between the Ubuntu boxes and that if they are willing to add those things themselves they can save some money on their pc.

Trab
February 25th, 2006, 02:02 AM
so long as u dont sell ubuntu itself (like try to claim the code as your own) it shouldnt be an issue...
there are SOME things u cant install (the w32codecs, and other things) legally, because they are owned by microsoft... but users who own windows already, are allowed to install them themselves (like automatix)

i have to tell you, im VERY happy to hear someone is gonna preload ubuntu on a box, hopefully configured for yes? it will help spread linux, so long as you dont charge for the os itself, it is GRAND!

mstlyevil
February 25th, 2006, 02:09 AM
so long as u dont sell ubuntu itself (like try to claim the code as your own) it shouldnt be an issue...