PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.10 server and desktop i386 downloads



tromus
December 18th, 2009, 11:07 PM
the md5 checksum keeps showing amd64, we need i386 for 32 bit cpus.

after download-

\Downloads\ubuntu-9.10-server-i386.iso

md5 checksum is 55618ad5f180692f9dac20cbff352634 using winMd5Sum program, which is the checksum for amd64 server.

the desktop i386 shows as the amd64 desktop checksum also.

tried US, Taiwan, and Canada sites.

Is there a link error or am I the error?

phillw
December 18th, 2009, 11:31 PM
the md5 checksum keeps showing amd64, we need i386 for 32 bit cpus.

after download-

\Downloads\ubuntu-9.10-server-i386.iso

md5 checksum is 55618ad5f180692f9dac20cbff352634 using winMd5Sum program, which is the checksum for amd64 server.

the desktop i386 shows as the amd64 desktop checksum also.

tried US, Taiwan, and Canada sites.

Is there a link error or am I the error?

Hi,
If you've burnt the CD, you can boot off it & there is an option to check the CD, this will check for burn errors & the md5checksum. It does take a little while, but nowhere as much time as you having a 'bad' cd.

Phill.

tromus
December 19th, 2009, 03:32 AM
No errors on the dvd, it boots to an AMD64 machine not a AMD32 machine, it is the amd 64 desktop version not the amd 32 (i386) desktop version.

the md5 check sum is verified after the download, the ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso download md5 checksum is showing as the ubuntu-9.10-desktop-amd64.iso checksum.


The following downloads and checksums :

ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso
ed6e77587b87fe0d92a2f21855869f00

ubuntu-9.10-server-i386.iso
37a04db193b1a342f961f59aea2fada8


are showing as:

ubuntu-9.10-desktop-amd64.iso
d91659de6e945dbb96eb8970b2b4590a

ubuntu-9.10-server-amd64.iso
55618ad5f180692f9dac20cbff352634


from the website

http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download

Is there a version for amd32?

Cheesemill
December 19th, 2009, 03:41 AM
Is there a version for amd32?

i386 is for 32-bit Intel and AMD
amd64 is for 64-bit Intel and AMD

Where are you getting your hashes from, none of them seem to match up with these:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuHashes

tromus
December 19th, 2009, 05:57 PM
from

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuHashes#9.10

tromus
December 20th, 2009, 09:01 PM
found issue, it was my error, the hashes were aligned wrong during the copy, trying to do a bazillion things in a split second.

my apologies.