PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HELP! Install ubuntu(linux)

brainiacary
December 18th, 2009, 02:29 PM
This is my first time with Linux/ubuntu :( I had never installed it on any PCs b4.so plz help me to solve my problem :) and make me at least a good linux user :D.
I had run live several times and i had dared to try to install it few times but i never installed it(cancelled after steps 5 out of 7 :lolflag:.) I'm very frightened that i might lose my data and my windows xp.
1. I have 4 primary partitions on my 80gb HD(Sata):
windows show them like this:
C = primary partition = 30 gb
D = primary partition = 9.5 gb
E = primary partition = 17 gb
F = primary partition = 18 gb

2. I have WindowsXPSP3 installed on my C (i.e. 30 gb partition).

3. I dont want to mess up the C drive(windows xp) nor E and F. The only drive I want to use is D drive(i.e 9.5 gb).So i am ready to format D drive ( 9.5gb primary partition).

4. So help me,geniuses of ubuntu linux :wink:, to successfully install ubuntu 9.10 on my PC on the so called D drive(9.5 GB second Primary partition) by formating it(maybe with ntfs if possible) and keeping everything intact other than this partition :guitar:.
Im Waiting eagerly for Ur helpful replies and suggestions :-D
Thanks in advance :popcorn:

ps : I have 512 mb Ram

darkod
December 18th, 2009, 02:34 PM
OK.
First: back up any important data. You never know what can go wrong, just in case.
Second: From XP delete the D: partition (if that's where you want ubuntu installed).
Third: Boot with ubuntu cd, select Install Ubuntu option, and in step 4 tell it to Use Largest Continuous Free space. That would mean the 9.5GB unallocated space you created by deleting D:.
It should work out fine. Although 9.5GB is slightly tight for ubuntu, but if that's all you have to use it will have to do for start.

brainiacary
December 18th, 2009, 02:38 PM
Thank u very much for instant reply, I'll do everything u said and reply later :D

darkod
December 18th, 2009, 02:42 PM