PDA

View Full Version : Pop up message confirm to quit in pygtk !

e=mc^3
December 18th, 2009, 06:47 AM
Hello,

I am new to pygtk and want make a very simple "hello world" kind application. I want to create a window, and when people click the x icon to quit the window, i want a button appear to confirm that. I have tried to do that but the problem is whenever i click the x icon, the window disappear without showing up the confirming button ! Note that for the callback function for the destroy event, i even didnt put a line of code to kill the application, but instead some code for display the button !

I am confused here. I tested it by rewriting the function connected to the destroy event, this time only one line of code:

print "the application has been terminated..."

And when i ran, i clicked x icon, the window disappear ! in the terminal it did write out "the application has been terminated ...". But the application didnt really quit ! (because i did nothing for the destroy event function, just print out something), i have to press ctrl-z to stop it manually . It seems normal, right ?

My question is, is it true when we click the x icon to quit a program, it just kill the program's UI first ? If so, how do i make a program that when user click the x icon, a popup message appear to confirm instead of kill the program's UI ?

The second question is what is the different between the function button.connect(...) and button.connect_object(....) ? I cant find it in the document.

DO you think that i should learn to program UI with GTK, C language first before pyGTK ? Is it easy to transfer C code to python code ?There are a lof of document for GTK/C, but pyGTK i really feel confused.

j7%<RmUg
December 18th, 2009, 08:30 AM
ok, ok slow down, i can see your a little distraught.

First of all check out the docs at the pygtk website: www.pygtk.org

it has a tutorial and reference docs too.