PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help installing drivers

Gedna
December 16th, 2009, 04:59 PM
Hello.

im new at ubuntu, need some explanation i need to make drivers, but i dont know how, in terminal i tried but with no luck,
situation is this, i found my sound card drivers, and installation actions,

Installation
These installation steps require you to have a configured and

prepared kernel source installed.

Unpack the contents of the file to /usr/src
cd /usr/src; tar -xzf hdspm_090814.tgz

Go into the new directory
cd hdspm

Compile the driver
make

Install the new modules
make install
modprobe hdspm

How to do this? when im trying to write "cd /usr/src; tar -xzf hdspm_090814.tgz" in terminal i got an error :) i know it sounds stupid but i really dont know hot to make this, can some one please help me,

natravis
December 16th, 2009, 05:07 PM
How to do this? when im trying to write "cd /usr/src; tar -xzf hdspm_090814.tgz" in terminal i got an error :) i know it sounds stupid but i really dont know hot to make this, can some one please help me,

Welcome! In order to write to the /usr directory, you need to use "sudo" to become a super user temporarily. I believe you will only need to input sudo one time, but if the lines do not work, press the up arrow and add sudo to the beginning of the line.

sudo mkdir /usr/src/hdspm
tar -xzf hdspm)090814.tgz /usr/src/hdspm
cd /usr/src/hdspm
make
make install
modprobe hdspm

You may need to use
./make
./make install rather than just
make
make install but someone other than I probably knows that answer.

Hope it's helpful!

Gedna
December 16th, 2009, 05:20 PM
but where that hdspm_090814.tgz must be in order to take effect? in downloads? in my home folder, in desktop? because i still got errors when copying what you wrote

natravis
December 16th, 2009, 06:14 PM