PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Client times out connecting http server

wiseguy12851
December 16th, 2009, 01:55 AM
I am running Ubuntu Server on a VMware computer with a NAT ip.

I am an advanced software engineer in all common computer languages but have never stepped foot in linux territory so I am learning very quick and have set up an HTTP server and downloaded my website from online server using FTP

Linux and the host computer connect instantly, hence the host computer is Windows Vista -- Cold Shiver --, When I get the IP address through linux (The one the host connects to within microseconds) all other computers completely time out (All windows). Even the command prompt displays request timed out.

I have hardly scratched the surface of linux and don't know how to access logs and such but another important detail to note is that the only steps I took to setting up the HTTP server was installing the packages and placing the website from online in the default directory allowing the loop-back address in linux and the given NAT address for Vista to access without any problems.

My ultimate goal is to setup test server for HTTP with a domain, nothing serious like dedicated speed and uptime, and to get to explorer Linux's network capabilities which Linux is built upon.

Any help with this timeout error, and should I do some more configuring

BkkBonanza
December 16th, 2009, 04:11 AM
You cannot use NAT mode interface for external access.
Unfortunately I don't use VMware so I can't tell you the name of the correct mode.
I use VirtualBox, which is similar, and they have "Bridged" mode that makes the VM look like another machine on the LAN for connections. VMWare no doubt has a similar type of network adapter.

With NAT mode your host machine acts as a router / NAT for the guest. You would have to create some special forwarding routes to get connections through to the guest.

wiseguy12851
December 16th, 2009, 04:25 AM