PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Unable to change Gnome Screen Resolution

toanders
December 15th, 2009, 04:37 PM
I am an ubuntu rookie. When I go to System>Display and change the resolution, nothing happens. I look for a confirmation button of some type, but it's not there. I loaded KDE and XFCE. I can change the resolution in either of the other desktops, but the change doesn't "carry over" to Gnome. I can't log in to xfce now, but that's a different issue. :grin: What am I doing wrong?

northern lights
December 15th, 2009, 04:47 PM
Are you possibly using a graphics device that has another tool for configuration (such as nvidia-settings for nvidia cards)?

Anuovis
December 15th, 2009, 04:50 PM
Well, I have two buttons at the bottom of Sytem>Preferences>Display in Gnome. One is Apply, the other one is Close. Can you see any of these?

toanders
December 15th, 2009, 04:51 PM
I'm running on an HP DL320 G4. I believe it uses an ATI 1000 video chipset. The resolution changes properly with KDE and UCFE, so I don't think it is related to the hardware. I suspect I'm missing something obvious.

toanders
December 15th, 2009, 04:53 PM
Well, I have two buttons at the bottom of Sytem>Preferences>Display in Gnome. One is Apply, the other one is Close. Can you see any of these?
Those are the buttons I don't see! The resolution comes up 720x400, and I'm using an HP 2159 monitor, if that helps. I tried it on an old CRT monitor but got the same display.

Anuovis
December 15th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Are we talking about the same window? Mine looks like this...

toanders
December 15th, 2009, 05:03 PM
Got it! Once I realized there were buttons there that I couldn't see (thanks, Anuovis!) I selected "Rotation" (the last field I could see on the screen) then tabbed once and hit enter. Nothing happened, so I went back to Rotation and tabbed twice and hit enter, and the resolution changed. It's a beautiful thing!

Anuovis
December 15th, 2009, 05:05 PM