PDA

View Full Version : whats that license?

rahilm
December 15th, 2009, 12:50 PM
Hi. I am new to the open source world. Just out of curiosity i wonder what is the difference between GPL LGPL and the BSD license. Are there any more licenses worth noting in the same line?

I tried googling and found some difference but I want personal responses. and I am not good at reading long licenses

issih
December 15th, 2009, 12:52 PM
http://developer.kde.org/documentation/licensing/licenses_summary.html

Hope that helps :)

Exodist
December 15th, 2009, 12:59 PM
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/lgpl.html
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gfdl.html
http://www.gnu.org/licenses/agpl.html
http://creativecommons.org/about/licenses/

Xbehave
December 15th, 2009, 01:19 PM
Oversimplified summary
BSD = Use this code as you wish
MPL = Changes to files we give you files must be given back
LGPL = Any changes to this project must be given back
GPL = Any code developed from this project must be given back

There are many licenses that are similar to BSD/MPL but have different restrictions, but AFAIK LGPL and GPL are the only licenses that require you give your code, if you distribute an improved version of the project.

earthpigg
December 15th, 2009, 01:34 PM
whatever you do, do not forget the WTFPL (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WTFPL)!!!

:D

rahilm
December 15th, 2009, 06:47 PM
So what makes GPL so much better??

alphaniner
December 15th, 2009, 06:52 PM

That's largely a matter of personal philosophy. I favour the BSD license.

aaaantoine
December 15th, 2009, 06:56 PM

The point of the GPL is for the source code to not only be open and freely distributable, but also to prevent others from taking the work and using it in a closed source application. Developing under the GPL license means compulsory source code sharing.