PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu on External HD - Grub Problem

bigdiesel
December 15th, 2009, 08:22 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a noob to Ubuntu. I decided to give it a try in VirtualBox but now I would like to have the real effect of installing Ubuntu on my external hard drive. (I can't install it internally, Vista will only allow me to shrink 2.3 GB)

I shrunk 20GB of my external HD, took the power cable off of my internal HD, rebooted with the CD and let Ubuntu install automatically by assigning the installer the free space. The desktop loads and all is well. I reboot and I get the:

Grub loading.
error: unknown filesystem

I tried to follow steps on google but it seems everyone has a different method. In the installer it said that dev/sde5 was Ubuntu and dev/sde6 was the swap.

I reinstalled the same way, went into the terminal and tried looking for the menu.lst but it wasn't under the boot/grub/ folder, I don't even think it installed!

Anyways I removed that partition and I want to start from scratch again. I really would like to run Ubuntu... but I need help, lol

Anyone wanna help out a noob :)

Thanks!! :)

Bartender
December 15th, 2009, 04:04 PM
I'm just guessing here. But I'm sure that GRUB error message is the key. Just need to find someone who knows what that's telling us.

I'm not up to speed on GRUB 2. Did you install 9.10? I'm pretty sure, just from reading bits and pieces over the last couple of weeks, that menu.lst doesn't get you where you need to be anymore with G2.