PDA

View Full Version : Cant save PHP files

cobbweb
February 24th, 2006, 08:22 AM
Hey,

I am trying to save php files in my "www" folder (i installed apache) but every time i do, it say's that there was an error and it "could not save the file"

Im really confused on why it would do this. Im saving it as a php file. Im very new to php but have done a lot of Java programming so have I know about program structs but have a hard time with data base stuf (thus the reason im trying to learn php and mysql) Is there a setting off? or im... really not sure. Thanks any help is wanted...

Cobbweb

suRoot
February 24th, 2006, 08:39 AM
Can you save the file elsewhere?

Sounds like a permissions problem to me.

Try saving the file to your home directory & then moving it

sudo mv /home/foo/foo.php /path/to/www

nemik
February 24th, 2006, 08:40 AM
chmod the folder so you can write to it.

cobbweb
February 24th, 2006, 08:56 AM
should i do a 755?

chmod 755 www

or is there a diffrent one i should do...

cobbweb
February 24th, 2006, 09:01 AM
Can you save the file elsewhere?

Sounds like a permissions problem to me.

Try saving the file to your home directory & then moving it

sudo mv /home/foo/foo.php /path/to/www

Works great, but do i have to move the files into the folder like that every time????

Kurt`
February 24th, 2006, 11:09 AM
Try this command:

ls -alFh /path/to/folder/where/www/is
and you should see something like this:

drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 1.3K 2006-02-23 02:32 htdocs/

And now for a quick lesson on linux file permissions ;)

chmod works like this:

chmod (-R) xyz files/folder
(-R is used to apply the new permissions recursively, so be careful with it.)

The xyz works like this:

x = owner's permission
y = the group's permission
z = everyone else's permission

And the values work like this:

4 = read
2 = write
1 = execute (probably won't be necessary)