PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] FATAL error, Ubuntu 9.10 will not boot after Package Manager upgrades

ddubdub
December 14th, 2009, 01:40 AM
Well, now I've done it...

I think this issue is going to be a very tough one for a couple of reasons:

1) I'm pretty new to Linux
2) My Linux install is running off a USB drive in a persistent fashion (done with instructions on pendrivelinux.com)

I have been using the USB drive installed version for several weeks. I loved it. No issues. Until today. In the Ubuntu package manager, I checked for updates and did an apply/install. There were a lot of items updated. I think 170 in total. It told me I needed to reboot after the updates, so I did.

After restarting, it brings up the boot screen as usual. I select the "Boot persistent..." option as usual. I will get to the pulsing Ubuntu symbol as usual. Then, the Ubuntu symbol goes away and the screen is blank. After pressing a key, here is the error:

FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.31-16-generic/modules.dep
No such file or directory
Unable to find a medium containing a live file system

Uh oh, that sounds bad :)

A basic shell comes up that I can navigate in. I have the following directory, not the one it's looking for above:
/lib/modules/2.6.31-14-generic

And in that directory, there is a 'kernel' directory and a file called 'modules.order'

So I'm in a bad state. I'm sure there'd a way to fix it if I was running on a normal install on a hard drive, but I have a feeling that because my install in on a flash drive and I don't have external access into these directories (I think they are part of a "casper" partition, whatever that is!), I don't know if there's going to be a way to fix this.

If there is no way to fix this flash drive install, is there any way to get my home directory or files out of this casper partition? I have some files on there I would really like to get back.

audiomick
December 14th, 2009, 01:51 AM
Hallo.
Don't know if you can fix it, sorry.