PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] internet doesnt connect. i made it worse. can i reinstall ubuntu?

sofa88
December 13th, 2009, 04:18 PM
I've recently decided to install ubuntu 9.10 on a laptop given to me by my father. I have no idea what the specs of this little brick are other than it's an Asus.

Install of ubuntu went well, other than the fact that I did a full install because I was having problems making it dual boot with the windows XP it had previously...

So I've lost XP indeffinatly.... no problem... didn't like it anyway.

Now I'm left with a system running Ubuntu wondefully, but refuses to connect to the internet (wirelessly or ether) since I'm brand new to the world of linux my attempts to solve the problem may have messed things up.. I followed some advice i found online and did something that has made my laptop think it has a mac wireless card in it... hmm. On install it recognized a Realtek wireless card.. now it doesnt do much of anything....

I would like to reinstall ubuntu to get back to the baseline i started at (as i have no idea what else i changed in trying to fix my internet problem) but i cant, for the life of me, figure out how....

has anyone else had a similar problem?

thx

darkod
December 13th, 2009, 04:30 PM
I don't know about the internet problem, but if you just want to reinstall over it, and you have only ubuntu, boot with the cd as previously, select Install Ubuntu, and at step 4 when asked where to install tell it to use whole disk. That will wipe the drive (destroying any mess that might exist there) and install fresh ubuntu 9.10 for you.
After that, report more specifically what's the problem with the internet connectivity, more details, and check if it will work with a cable first. Wireless comes second.

phillw
December 13th, 2009, 04:40 PM