PDA

View Full Version : Buying a Laptop

br420
February 23rd, 2006, 10:19 PM
So I have recently decided to make the big step and buy a laptop. After doing a little preliminary research and comparing prices, the Dell XPS M140 looks to be the best match for me. I am looking for long battery life (this is supposed to get like upwards of 6 hours on the 9-cell), wireless access, mobile multimedia, light weight, and no gaming. Since I am new to laptops, I was wondering what you all think about this machine, Dells in general, and whether I will be able to successfully dual boot with this. Like I said I don't plan on gaming with it and just want it for all-around use.

Specs:

Intel® Pentium® M Processor 760 (2GHz/2MB Cache/533MHz FSB)
14.1 inch WXGA TrueLife™ LCD Panel
1GB Shared DDR2 SDRAM 2 Dimms
Integrated Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 900
80GB 5400rpm Hard Drive
8xCD/DVD burner(DVD+/-RW)w/dble-layer DVD+R write capability
Intel® PRO 2915 Internal Wireless (802.11 a/b/g, 54Mbps)
9-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery (80 WHr)
TOTAL:$1,264.32 (with discount from my college)

Also, I could save $200 by going with the 1.76Ghz Pentium M 760, would a see a big difference in performance? Basically I mean is the 2ghz with $200 more?

If you don't think this would be a good match and have other recommendations I am looking to spend no more than $1500.

Thanks

Protostar
February 23rd, 2006, 10:32 PM
14 inches is a little small, don't you think? Maybe I'm just accustomed to my 17 incher HP, but I donot think I could go back to 14 inches. Specs look pretty good to me. Graphics is very weak, but that shouldn't matter to you unless you play games.

br420
February 23rd, 2006, 10:47 PM
14 could be a little small.... but im looking for a very light weight compact laptop, you think a 15.4 would be much better?

Also, does anyone know anything about the following graphics card? the specs that I have found are kinda unclear: