PDA

View Full Version : some advice for a lost soul

onewaytrip
February 23rd, 2006, 10:01 PM
first let me inform yall of my situation. ok im a computer science major and so far been learning c rather its the only language every professor in my school uses. well for the most part i love it i find it to be very fun and interesting.

now here my problem, ive been in school for 3yrs now though i feel im better at c than any of my classmates i feel like after 3yrs all information i receive so far is just introductory c. it gotten to the point were i feel im just learning enough to get by(just in school) and nothing i would really use for real time programming. so far every program i have written has just been simple little programs like a calculator, and a program to find out how many students in the class are this or that, etc... now when i go home i want to study and learn more but the problem is i just dont know what to do. i have no ideas for writing a program that would be of any use and even if i did i would more then likely not be able to write it anyways. it have become very frustating working so hard at school them coming home feeling like all you learn was just how to play with some numbers and letters.

so recently i began doing research on programming and found a lot of good advice but the problem is it usually for people who have well knowledge of programming and any projects i find online are usually way to advance for me. so can any of ya help to point me into the right direction to improving my programming skill and way i can be a better programmer overall.

thanks in advance and sorry the thread is so long i wanted try to give you enough information so you can at least picture what im going through.

suRoot
February 23rd, 2006, 10:42 PM
Are you looking to join a project, or do your own thing?

Here's a listing of projects needing help at sourceforge - - - maybe you'll find something that interests you.

http://sourceforge.net/people/?category_id=1