PDA

View Full Version : good learning distribution?

PatrickMoore
December 12th, 2009, 01:43 PM
I've been using ubuntu for a while and like it. I'm not too fond of 9.10 though. so I figured that now would be a perfect time to find a distribution to really learn linux. so I'm looking for a distribution that allows me to really learn how linux works and how to really use it. I'm still merely a beginner / intermediate and considering ive been using linux for nearly two years I figured it was time for me to really take a plunge into the linux world. I want to be able to be more helpful to new users and perhaps help develop future ubuntu releases

any suggestions?

Psumi
December 12th, 2009, 01:46 PM
"To Learn linux" is an extremely vague term. What do you want to learn SPECIFICALLY.

Bash commands?

How to install wine to run your windows programs?

How to install x64 flash properly?

etc?

Have you searched this forum: http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=100

PatrickMoore
December 12th, 2009, 01:50 PM
sorry for being vague. I've always used the forum as a crutch and while ive absorbed some commands I want to be truly proficient with the terminal so that I can troubleshoot without someone holding my hand and potentally help more people beginning linux. so to answer your question i want to learn how to utilize the terminal to do everything.

Psumi
December 12th, 2009, 01:58 PM
Then you'll want to search google for bash tutorials. No "distro" will tell you how to use bash properly.

Tibuda
December 12th, 2009, 02:06 PM
If shell is what you want to learn, read some tutorials and keep a look at shell-fu (http://www.shell-fu.org/) and commandline-fu (http://www.commandlinefu.com/) for random tips. Bash is the same in every Linux-distro and BSD-variant (including Mac OS X).

PatrickMoore
December 12th, 2009, 02:34 PM