PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Edit GLMatrix Screensaver

blue_
December 12th, 2009, 08:54 AM
Hello All, I am new around here so hope I am posting this in the correct section. I am not a pro at Linux or anything. I have used it on servers for the last 5 years, I understand most the basics but haven't really compiled anything until I installed Ubuntu on my desktop.

My Main question is has anyone ever edited the GLMatrix and recompiled it on karmic/gnome? If so can you tell if I am doing anything wrong? If you haven't and have any insight it would be greatly appreciated.

I am trying to edit the GLmatrix screen saver to change the color from Green to Blue. I tried to use this tutorial http://santhoshtr.livejournal.com/7078.html for the basics on how to do it. It is not for the color its for the text but same process I believe. What I did was download the source then edited the xpm file to make it blue an changed GLMatrix.c to the new module "Blue Matrix" as the tutorial says then when I recompiled I receive a error

First Error
.configure runs through checks for a few seconds then posts this error.

configure: error: Couldn't find X11 headers/libs. Try `./configure --help'.After googling around awhile I found out this was because the libs weren't included so I ran this.

./configure --x-includes=/usr/include --x-libraries=/usr/lib

The first time I ran it, it only gave me 1 warning so I thought it configured but there was no make file to run to finish the compile? I believe the warning was in regards to XPM Library but can't really remember.

In frustration I thought maybe it was because gnome-screensaver and a bunch of xscreensavers were installed so I completely removed everything having to do with screen saver. Tried to configure it again and received a bunch of warnings for library's missing. So I re-installed gnome-screensaver and xscreensaver-gl.

Now when I try to configure it with ./configure --x-includes=/usr/include --x-libraries=/usr/lib I receive this.