PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB problem

OO_Donut
December 12th, 2009, 07:02 AM
Ok, here is my situation. (Also I dont know where this would fit in,m I assumed install because it happened after installing ubuntu.)

I have 3 HDDs in my computer, a 20 gb for ubuntu, an 80 GB for windows XP and a 200GB for windows 7.
[EDIT: If it matters the 80 and 20 GB are IDE and the 200GB is sata] When I loaded ubuntu onto the 20 gb HDD everything seemed to go good. but when I wanted to get back to windows it would load the GRUB. This was my first ubuntu distro so I am completely new to it, and I dont mind it. Other than when i unplug my 20 gb hdd and start my computer. It wont load because of something to do with the GRUB. even tho the bios says that the windows 7 partition is the boot partition it still tries loads the GRUB. I cannot get to windows unless i plug the drive back in. Once again still not a big problem untill my 20 gb dies, it is very old, not sure how much life is in it.

Did linux write over my MBR?

How do I fix it so the grub doesnt load? I dont even need windows to recognize ubuntu or windows XP, I am completely fine with going into the bios and changing the boot order if I want to switch OS.

As i said I am kinda new to ubuntu so any advise would need to be fully explained.

Please help! Thanks,
Nathan

pedja_portugalac
December 12th, 2009, 07:11 AM
Ok, here is my situation. (Also I dont know where this would fit in,m I assumed install because it happened after installing ubuntu.)

I have 3 HDDs in my computer, a 20 gb for ubuntu, an 80 GB for windows XP and a 200GB for windows 7.