PDA

View Full Version : How can I contribute back?

Logan513
December 12th, 2009, 03:50 AM
I am a programmer.
I can programme in Perl, C, and C++.

I have no idea what to do.
Every idea for software I could possibly imagine has already been created.
How can I contribute back to the Ubuntu community?
What applications have not been written for Ubuntu?

I am all out of ideas.
And I feel as though I have no purpose. :(

audiomick
December 12th, 2009, 03:57 AM
Have a look here:
http://www.ubuntu.com/community/participate

if you haven't already

Logan513
December 12th, 2009, 03:59 AM
I have. Although I still have no clue on to what applications that I can create to help the cause. I'm not good at anything else.

fancypiper
December 12th, 2009, 04:07 AM
Why not join the dev team for an app you like or would like improved?

I'm not good at anything else.You never know what you are good with until you reach beyond your perceived limitations. Success comes from repeated failures.

Logan513
December 12th, 2009, 04:11 AM
I would like a C++ development environment..... ;)

But I'm sure they already have those.... And I don't have a clue as to how to make a compiler.

Logan513
December 12th, 2009, 04:15 AM
I'm not sure if bumps here are frowned apon but... Is it legal to use the GCC compiler?

lisati
December 12th, 2009, 04:15 AM
One place to start might be to have a go at answering questions in the "Programming Talk" section of the forums.
Have a look here: http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=39

Physical Hook
December 12th, 2009, 04:18 AM
I'm not sure if bumps here are frowned apon but... Is it legal to use the GCC compiler?

Are you really a C++ programmer ? :neutral:

fancypiper
December 12th, 2009, 04:20 AM
I'm not sure if bumps here are frowned apon but... Is it legal to use the GCC compiler?:lolflag: GCC (http://gcc.gnu.org/) is open source and open source is free and legal.:popcorn:

Logan513
December 12th, 2009, 04:24 AM