PDA

View Full Version : Linux stories.

dragos240
December 11th, 2009, 10:27 PM
I started experimenting with computers at 2, mostly small games and moving the mouse, on windows of course. At 5 I started playing with educational games galore, and MS simulator 2000. At this time, we were using dial up, internet was slow. At 8, I finally got my own computer, an HP windows 98, I downloaded everything I could find, I needed to get my HD reformatted every 2 weeks. It was very slow. I loved trial softwares. I experimented with a DOS, created some text files, and somehow got viruses on it. At 10, I was considered the computer geek of the family, after messing with my computer again, and again, I learned what not to do, and how to fix many problems, of course, I could only fix issues on 98 computers. Finally at 12, I had enough, I hated my old XP computer that I got at 11, it was slow, and had norton antivirus, it took 10 minutes to start up and crashed all the time. What did I do, I got vista. A brand new vista computer, 2 gb of ram, and a 256gb hard drive. I got parental controls on it, I had no freedom over where I went, and it crashed even more than my XP computer, If I left a usb drive in the computer, it blue screened. Honestly, it was the worst operating system I had ever used in my life. I searched for OS alternatives. I found a tool for booting fedora off a USB drive. It worked better than any OS I ever used. It was fast, and efficient. After this I found ubuntu. From there you can view my posts. I had some troubles, but it worked like a charm. It was fun, and I finally, got arch, I had some good times with it, learned so much from it. Now I'm using gentoo, I have learned so much more. If I was still using Windows. I wouldn't have learned so much, I wouldn't of known how things work. And I wouldn't be creating simple tools, and creating a distro for the community. I really want to help out here. Hopefully my procrastination won't get the best of me. Linux rocks.