PDA

View Full Version : I'm studying for linux+ and I have some questions...

ant2ne
December 11th, 2009, 09:17 PM
My process is to take each and every entry from the CompTIA Linux+ objectives (2009 Edition) Certification Exam Objectives, and create a flash card for each. Then I hit the man pages and google to learn about each concept.

So far I've gone through Domains 1.0 and 2.0 (Installation & configuration, and System Maintenance & Operation) and things are going well. There are only a few things that I can't seem to find information on, or the information I find is not geared towards the Linux+ or is not specific enough. I'm hoping that the knowledgeable users of this forum could help me gain general knowledge, or (even better) Linux+ specific knowledge about these topics.

Below, are the sections that I require help with.

1.10 Troubleshoot boot issues using the following tools
Kernel Options (What? How?)

2.1 Given a scenario, use the following fundamental linux tools, techniques and resources.
I/O redirection (What? How? example? for each of the following)
=
==
;
xargs (the man is pretty confusing on this one, a simple exaple would help)

2.1 Given a scenario, use the following fundamental linux tools, techniques and resources.
Processes Management - Signals (What signals? How do the manage processes?)

2.3 Common log files
(What are the purposes to these logs ?)
/var/log/lastlog
/var/log/messages
/var/log/syslog
/var/log/maillog
/var/log/secure
/usr/log

2.4 Conduct and manage backup and restore operations
How to write to media CD / DVD? (What utility or command is Linux+ looking for?)

2.5 Explain the following features and concepts of X11
xorg.conf. (How much detailed knowledge is expected?)
Difference between X11 Server & Client (What?)

I'm certain that when I've created flash cards for the other 3 domains, I will have additional questions. :(

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 11th, 2009, 09:55 PM