PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] GRUB2 - Help! I don't speak computer...

juliarain
December 11th, 2009, 07:51 PM
I'm re-posting this from the Absolute Beginner's Forum, after a guy told me what program the issue was with. As a quick recap, I installed some updates onto Ubuntu/Wubi and now I can't access my desktop. The guy who commented told me to input "update-grub" and that didn't work (though I might have been doing it wrong because I don't speak computer). At this point, I just want to access my desktop.

Here is the post:

http://ubuntuforums.org/images/icons/icon9.gif Absolute Noob Installs Updates, Can No Longer Access Desktop (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1351724)
So I installed Ubuntu using the Wubi (http://wubi-installer.org/) installer for Windows (not because I want to keep Windows, but because I don't have a CD driver on my laptop anymore and didn't want to attempt these complicated instructions for installing Linux from a USB drive (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Install_from_a_USB_flash_drive)).

I should mention that the whole goal of this was to get a working wireless card again, since I accidentally deleted the Windows software that allows me to use it. I know nothing about C++. I just thought Linux would be a good option since I didn't want to repurchase the software that would allow me to access the internet again. Dell did not send me any installation disks with the laptop - and even if I had them, I couldn't use them due to my nonexistent CD drive - and the laptop is literally held together with packing tape at this point, so it's really not worth spending any money on. It would just be nice to have a working internet connection on it again. Anyway...

I had Ubuntu installed (via Wubi) and it was working fine for several days. Then I installed a bunch of updates, and restarted my computer. Now, when I start the computer and tell it to run Ubuntu, it gives me this:

GNU GRUB version 1.97~beta4