PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual-boot Install 9.10 issue with RAID

jlloyd_ndpdd
December 10th, 2009, 08:19 PM
Hi guys,

The backstory: I used the windows installer to install Ubuntu 9.10 but my Vista Business is 64-bit. When i loaded Ubuntu i realized it was also 64-bit but i wanted 32-bit so i deleted it and started over.
I downloaded the live cd and used it to test if it would see the RAID. It found my RAID so i went ahead and tried to install, but i saw that it did not give me the option to install side-by-side with Windows. So... i went back into windows and created a partition. I then used the live cd to install Ubuntu and didn't know what options to pick so when it gave me the option to choose (the root I guess), I chose "/" over "/boot." Well it didn't boot. I am new to Linux so i was just messing around with it. Long story short I deleted the partition.

Now, i am trying to use the windows installer bc i figure the 64-bit is fine anyway but when i run "Wubi.exe" it says there is an installation present and it needs to be uninstalled first. so now, i can't have Ubuntu at all until i figure out how to:

A: Install via cd to dual-boot with windows
OR
B: Resolve the issue with Wubi so it will reinstall Ubuntu 9.10 64-bit.

Sorry for the length;)
Thanks for the help in advance!

darkod
December 10th, 2009, 11:45 PM
The issue with wubi should be resolved by using add/remove programs. Wubi installs ubuntu inside windows and the removal should be from add/remove like any windows app. I don't know what you did first time and if you just deleted the ubuntu folder the uninstallation might not work. But try it.
Another point, depending how much you want to learn about ubuntu, wubi is not really proper side-by-side dual boot. I personally never use it, but it might be easier for lots of people. As long as you know that it's not "true" ubuntu (it will reside on your ntfs partitions for example).