PDA

View Full Version : yay for my first little python program!

earthpigg
December 10th, 2009, 04:17 AM
so, im 50 pages into "Python 3 for Absolute Beginners (http://www.amazon.com/Python-Absolute-Beginners-Experts-Source/dp/1430216328/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1260414358&sr=8-1)" and it felt like i had read enough to construct my own happy little program from scratch.

i felt this because i knew how to take input from the user, manipulate it, give output, and the author had just started describing how to use basic logic statements like "if -this- then -do this-".

after about 2 hours of work, it turns out i was correct! :D

it tells you how much paint you will need to purchase to paint a given rectangular room.... i have no idea if my assumptions about paint use per square foot are correct, i got them from google.

below is the source, attached is the same. to run it:

python3 /path/to/howmuchpaint.py

if you want to "install" it, simply rename it from howmuchpaint.py to howmuchpaint, move the file to /usr/bin or /usr/share/bin (may have to "sudo nautilus" to be able to do that), right click on it and give it the "executable" permission for all users, and hit "ok".

now you can just enter this command from the terminal to run it:

howmuchpaint

i haven't gone to the trouble to correct the user in every possible given case of illogical inputs. for example: if you tell it you have a room "potato" feet long, it will simply drop back to the terminal with an obscure error message instead of helpfully notifying you that "potato" is not a number.

i haven't quite got my head around when i do and do not need to specify that something is an int() or float() [as opposed to a str()]. in the book, the author does not do it all the time in his examples... but i ended up getting so many syntax errors that i just used one or the other pretty much every time.

code:

#! /usr/bin/python3

"""
howmuchpaint.py