PDA

View Full Version : commercial spaceships?

sandyd
December 10th, 2009, 02:09 AM
Space ships used to only carry astronauts.
now they carry civilians as well....
http://www.wired.com/autopia/2009/12/spaceshiptwo-christened-as-vss-enterprise/

technology advancing fast eh?
i really wonder who would actually pay for a flight like this.

JDShu
December 10th, 2009, 02:15 AM
Mark Shuttleworth springs to mind ;)

Marvin666
December 10th, 2009, 02:16 AM
I would if I won the lottery.

sandyd
December 10th, 2009, 02:22 AM
^ ^
this
:)

lovinglinux
December 10th, 2009, 03:12 AM
I would if I won the lottery.

+1

The re-entry system is really cool.

Old_Grey_Wolf
December 10th, 2009, 03:23 AM
I was a Test Engineer for the Shuttle Flight Simulator back in the late 1970's. That was prior to when the first shuttle was launched. The Shuttle Flight Simulator was used to train the astronauts and the people in mission control (Houston) for the upcoming flights. The Shuttle Flight Simulator simulated the entire flight from launch to landing. The Shuttle Flight Simulator had hydraulic legs that could emulate the motions and g-forces that an astronaut would experience in the shuttle. During the launch, you could see the tower as the shuttle lifted off the launch pad. The motion system also simulated the thrust of takeoff by exerting g-forces on the occupants. It was quite impressive to ride in it. Within minutes you would achieve orbit. While you were in orbit, you could use a simulation of the shuttle's mechanical arm to do various tasks. Then you had to land the Shuttle Flight Simulator. You could see yourself maneuvering for the reentry, hear the thrusters, and feel the motion as it was taking place. The on-board computers helped with piloting the shuttle to the landing site. I couldn't have come close to a landing without them. I have to admit that I crashed on the runway in California 9 out of 10 times. The darn thing flies like a brick :-).