PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with grub

evworld
December 9th, 2009, 03:43 AM
I am kind of new to linux so bear with me.

Here is how I had my system set up and I would like to get it back to the same way.

I have two sata hard drives installed. I unplugged one and installed vista onto it. I then unplugged that drive and plugged in the second drive and installed ubuntu on to it.

Everything was fine. Which ever system I wanted to use I just booted from the bios. I had the vista drive in the primary slot and my computer booted to it without doing anything.

Today I had an update while using Ubuntu. The update was for grub. Not knowing anything would happen I installed it. Now my system is set up as a dual boot the normal way. When I restart my computer Grub loads and I have to pick which sytem to boot into.

If I unplugg the linux drive and restart, grub tries to load and I get some error. No operating system will load. If i plug both drives in and restart grub comes up and I pick which on to run.

Before if I had the linux drive unplugged vista would load as normal.

What I would like to is get it back to how I had it before. Vista would boot with no grub showing up if I rebooted. If I wanted to run linux I needed to boot to 2nd drive via the bios.

Does any one know if I can get it back that way?

presence1960
December 9th, 2009, 05:24 AM
I am kind of new to linux so bear with me.

Here is how I had my system set up and I would like to get it back to the same way.

I have two sata hard drives installed. I unplugged one and installed vista onto it. I then unplugged that drive and plugged in the second drive and installed ubuntu on to it.

Everything was fine. Which ever system I wanted to use I just booted from the bios. I had the vista drive in the primary slot and my computer booted to it without doing anything.