PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows XP Machine Conversion

tapupartforpres
December 9th, 2009, 01:34 AM
Hello new and newbie here.

I have a 2.53 mhz, P4, 160 GB HD, with 768 RAM with Windows XP on it. I wanted to set up a file server for home use and wanted to know the best way to do this. I have 2 Windows machines and a Mac cpu on a wireless network. My friend mentioned to set up an ubuntu server but didn't give any specifics. Any ideas?

Thanks

teward
December 9th, 2009, 01:43 AM
Setting up an Ubuntu server will completely wipe windows on your computer, and you can only use Ubuntu because if you don't the server goes down.

you technically don't even need to use Ubuntu Server Edition.

I set up a networked file storage on ym Desktop, using Ubuntu Desktop Edition 9.04. I installed openssh-client, and its dependencies, got my Desktop to act as an SSH server, and now I use sftp to access the data through either my account, or a user with the name guestssh.

Regardless of what way, you're going to have to ditch the idea of ever using Windows on that computer again.

LeifAndersen
December 9th, 2009, 01:45 AM
You're going tow ant some sort of LAMP setup. Ubuntu Server can give you that out of the box, if your willing to play with the terminal. So, what I would do if you're new to ubuntu, and don't want to learn the unix command line, is go to: http://www.ubuntu.com/products/whatisubuntu/serveredition download and burn the iso. Once you've installed it
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop from there, you're golden. Put everything you want to be put on a semi-public html page in /var/www.

chillyomi
December 9th, 2009, 01:52 AM
Well if I understand correctly then you need to download the iso for the Ubuntu Server edition you want I recommend Jaunty Jackalope or maybe you could try Karmic Koala im still getting used to it .

Then again if you don't want to lose windows then you could try dual-booting with GRUB

3rdalbum
December 9th, 2009, 02:36 AM