PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to set up the partitions correctly?

Borrot
December 8th, 2009, 06:26 PM
Well, first of all I've to say that I'm very new in this ubuntu world. Because of this I got some questions about how to set up the partitions correctly(and yeah, I've been searching around the net but I can't find what I want).

Okey, I'll take this from the beginning. Yesterday I decided to install ubuntu. I downloaded the CD and burned it. Everything works but I just don't know how to set up the partitions. I've already created an "unallocated" partition at 140.91 GiB. I know how to create new partitions but I don't know how they should be.

Maybe you can help me with telling me some steps about how I should set everything up.

Here is some information that may help you:
http://i48.tinypic.com/16hu3k3.png
I'll create everything with ubuntu to do in the "unllocated" partition.

I'm using the pre-installed program "GParted" to create new partitions.

So, how many partitions do I have to create, what labels should they have, what type of partition should it be e.g.

Feel free to post some links to a thread, a youtube clip a guide or something else that can help me.

Sorry for the bad English, I'm from Sweden.

phillw
December 8th, 2009, 06:38 PM
Well, first of all I've to say that I'm very new in this ubuntu world. Because of this I got some questions about how to set up the partitions correctly(and yeah, I've been searching around the net but I can't find what I want).

Okey, I'll take this from the beginning. Yesterday I decided to install ubuntu. I downloaded the CD and burned it. Everything works but I just don't know how to set up the partitions. I've already created an "unallocated" partition at 140.91 GiB. I know how to create new partitions but I don't know how they should be.

Maybe you can help me with telling me some steps about how I should set everything up.