PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ten easy tips and tricks for beginners

humphreybc
December 8th, 2009, 12:41 AM
Hey guys!

I just wrote up a two part mini-series of tips and tricks on my blog, it has ten easy but useful tips (with screenshots) for Ubuntu that I didn't find out for quite a while of using Ubuntu. I was a beginner once too, and I know that I found these sort of posts really useful.

Check out Part One here:

http://humphreybc.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/ubuntu-tips-and-tricks-part-1/

And Part Two. (http://humphreybc.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/ubuntu-tips-and-tricks-part-2/)

EDIT: I can see from my stats that although Part 1 has had over 100 views, part 2 has only 46! Obviously the click through rate onto part 2 isn't huge, or some people are missing the link at the bottom of the page. So, here's a link to part two. (http://humphreybc.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/ubuntu-tips-and-tricks-part-2/)

Enjoy!

Chris Edgell
December 8th, 2009, 12:51 AM
I'm very excited to read this. I suppose it is your artistic style to have it done in white on black--it's hard as heck for me to read. Let me see if I can Ctrl + and get it legible for/to me.

But thanks for tinking of us toiling in the trenches...haha learning about ubuntu.

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 8th, 2009, 12:52 AM
Good work! Just three suggestions:

1. State the version of Ubuntu used, eg Ubuntu 9.10.

2. Date the article and when updated. Points 1 and 2 should be at the top of the page as an introduction to provide context.

3. Add a description and link to your signature.

Chris Edgell
December 8th, 2009, 01:01 AM
It MUST be Karmic, as I have 0.04 and it looks nothing like this.
I DID want to leave a comment but could not even read the first 3 bars/boxes to fill out before leaving comment. Still, I was interested enough that now I am going to Part 2.

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 8th, 2009, 01:03 AM
it's hard as heck for me to read.

This needs to be addressed.

LuisGMarine
December 8th, 2009, 01:57 AM