PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is windows affected at all by Linux/Ubuntu OS?

tram84mvp
December 7th, 2009, 10:54 PM
I am an absolute beginner and i am downloading Ubuntu now, once i have the file and burn it to disc it says to put the disc in and restart your computer and follow the directions - no problem there, my question is: Windows will still be there and i can switch back to it after installing Ubuntu if i want - so Ubuntu is just an alternate operating system and it does not affect windows at all, therefore there is no danger of losing windows or having windows crash?

lisati
December 7th, 2009, 11:01 PM
It depends on how you install Ubuntu. Included in your options are the following:

Replace Windows completely -or-
Use "Wubi" to install Ubuntu "within" Windows -or-
Install Ubuntu along side Windwos inside its own partition

Have a look here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wubi

aysiu
December 7th, 2009, 11:06 PM
If you're downloading the Ubuntu Desktop CD and not the Ubuntu Alternate CD, then it will not affect Windows unless you specifically tell it to.

By default, it boots a "live" session than runs a fully functioning Ubuntu from the CD itself and your computer's RAM. It does not touch your hard drive until you click the Install icon.

Save yourself a CD, though, if you can boot from USB. UNetBootIn (http://unetbootin.sourceforget.net) will help you "burn" the .iso to a USB key.

You can also use Wubi to install Ubuntu "inside" Windows as a virtual partition:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/wubi

cybrsaylr
December 7th, 2009, 11:10 PM
I've been dual booting with Windows for 3 years now and Ubuntu never effected the Windows OS. Your PC acts like it has two separate and distinct OSs.

darkod
December 8th, 2009, 12:15 AM
I've been dual booting with Windows for 3 years now and Ubuntu never effected the Windows OS. Your PC acts like it has two separate and distinct OSs.