PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] xorg memory leak when scrolling

countjoe
December 7th, 2009, 08:26 PM
I'm having an odd issue after upgrading to 9.10... Certain apps will cause my system memory usage to grow when I scroll in a window.

To reproduce, I open gnome-terminal, do something to that generates enough output to scroll the window, move the scroll bar up and down repeatedly, memory grows, then it appears to fill physical memory and then gnome-terminal crashes and then memory is recovered. Under normal use, it happens in gnome-terminal or Eclipse after a few hours of working(I'm a Java developer), and is EXTREMELY frustrating. Top reports memory belonging to Xorg.

Here is some data about my system:

4GB of memory, only 10% in use after boot and launching normally used apps
Kernel is linux-image-generic-pae
Using Gnome desktop, and problem exists with or without compositing enabled
All software is up-to-date as of the time of posting
NVidia GeForce 7300 LE, running dual monitors via TwinView
Scrolling issue confirmed present in:
* gnome-terminal
* eclipse galileo
* gedit
Scrolling issue confirmed NOT present in:
* firefox
* gvim
* open office

akashiraffee
December 7th, 2009, 10:04 PM
Just to let you know, I installed ubuntu last week, am also a developer, and use a lot of terminals.

I don't have any memory problems at all, it stays pretty consistent. Right now I've had it on all day, six workspaces in gnome, 2 or more terminals with multiple tabs at all times, mem is about 40% of 2G.

CodZoY
December 8th, 2009, 04:41 AM
Exact same problem here.
I've been having this for 2 days, and just realized it was caused by scrolling. Google took me here immediately :P.

My system: Ubuntu Karmic 9.10 amd64, Gnome with Compiz, 4GB RAM, ATI HD4850 (I'm using experimental xorg for 3D acceleration, at first I though this was the problem, but you have a GeForce, so I'm not really sure now).

Xorg at boot: 60MB Ram.