PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] fix for monitor resolution planned?

wstauffer
December 7th, 2009, 06:06 PM
My monitor is not being recognized by Ubuntu 9.10, defaulting it into
a very low resolution with no other choices.

I have had issues with this monitor on other computers at times, but
it worked previously on this computer. I think the monitor is
putting out the incorrect setting.

I am new to Linux, and simply have trouble following the code solutions that manually
configure the monitor. I am in desparate need of step by step instructions on manually configuring my monitor, or would be even more happy if this problem
could be fixed with an update of some sort since I am most comfortable with gui's
at this stage of my learning (I am trying!)

Can someone help me? I will look up the specs on my monitor if I have to program
refresh, etc., but the end result of 1024/768 with 60hz 4/3 (apect ratio) refresh is in the ballpark I have had before with success.

Does anyone know if a fix for this bug will be offered in the near future? I think it is fair to say that many others are having this problem, as well. Us "non-programmer types" that are just learning linux are in need of some help, please!

Thanks in advance!

jaylsi
December 7th, 2009, 07:29 PM
What kind of graphic card does it have? What do you see if you select "System->Administration->Hardware Drivers"? Monitor configuration normally goes with graphic card configuration. So if you have a proper driver installed, then you should be able to get the optimal configuration for monitor.

mikewhatever
December 7th, 2009, 07:30 PM
Can you post the output of the following commands from Terminal:

xrandr -q

cvt 1024 768

wstauffer
December 7th, 2009, 08:02 PM
Hi, and thanks for entertaining my issue below are the results:

$ xrandr -q
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 640 x 480, maximum 640 x 480
default connected 640x480+0+0 0mm x 0mm
640x480 50.0*
320x240 51.0

$cvt 1024 768