PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu not booting after update

rpares
December 7th, 2009, 03:34 PM
Hello there!

I am completely new to the Ubuntu environment. I just installed on my computer (which also has Windows)and love it.
However, this is the second time that after doing requested Updates and restarting, I am getting the "terminal" with a message:

GNU GRUB version 1.97 beta 4

[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible/device/file completions. ]

sh:grub>

Can anyone out there help me to fix this problem. This is the second time it happen and is frustrating.
I am an Architect. Have no clue about operating systems. I am doing this move to ubuntu due to its good reputation. I really want to make it work for me.

PLEASE PLEASE, if you try to help me and answer this, be very basic. I don't have knowledge of it. (Imagine you are talking to your grandfather about it; whatever he won't be able to understand, I won't either) LOL!

Thank you very very much for any help on this issue.

Best Regards,

Ruben

namok
December 7th, 2009, 03:57 PM
Please follow the 'Boot Info Script: How to' (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1291280) and put the results.txt file in your next post.

rpares
December 7th, 2009, 04:31 PM
Thank you very much for your response. I tried to you what you said; way too complicated for me. I can't go into this. It is not my field of expertise. Looks like Ubuntu is for people that are really into programing.
I will have to remove it.
Thanks anyways.
Ruben

darkod
December 7th, 2009, 04:36 PM
This problem was usually happening to people that installed wubi. Did you install from within windows using wubi.exe or you booted with the ubuntu cd and did it like that?

rajesh88
December 7th, 2009, 05:01 PM
hello,
i have installed ubuntu 9.10 through wubi. After doing updates i am also facing the problem.

darkod
December 7th, 2009, 05:06 PM
hello,