PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Third time lucky? Nope!

craigmarshall
December 6th, 2009, 11:30 PM
Hi,

Some background (lengthy):

I've happily used half at least half a dozen GNU/Linux distributions in the past since before 2000 I believe, never full time for anything except servers, but I've done my fair share of dabbling (I've used Fedora, Slackware, Gentoo, Debian, Opensuse, mandrake, DSL, etc.), but I have yet to find one that installs cleanly and is reasonably usable out of the box (on at least two laptops of mine, that I can remember) without having to do command line stuff and memorize or searching for several steps to do outside of following the standard CD instructions. I am capable of doing the fiddling around, I've maintained servers and that's the only way to talk to them, but I don't want to fuss with this stuff any more for a home machine when I want to get home-stuff done. I used to work in IT and I've switched to woodwork, and now I see myself as an end user only.

I do prefer Ubuntu to all the other distributions that I've tried, It has Gnome, it has apt, it is full featured, it has a large user base, a good philosophy, etc. Unfortunately, these reasons are not enough on their own!

Interestingly, I have spent time and effort over the years switching to open source programs, and that has been a success for the most part. I don't use many proprietary programs. I get most of my stuff done with emacs, inkscape, gimp, apache, lighttpd, php, python, vlc, vnc, ssh, etc. I do still use a few closed source programs, primarily sketchup and skype, probably a couple more.