PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem boot Ubuntu

mestizo19
December 6th, 2009, 06:17 PM
Hi every one...well...i saw that the same problem as mine have many users...!Well...i upgrate a few days before my Ubuntu 9.04 to 9.10.Everything works perfect!!Today...when i restart my computer...when it shows me the options Windows XP or Ubuntu(Dual boot)when i choose Ubuntu it apears to me the fowlloing message:

GNU GRUB version 1.97 beta4

[ Minimal BASH-like editing is supported. For the first world, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible device/file completions. ]

sh:grub>_

Well...because i am not a pro user of Linux...tell me with simple words what can i do to fix this problem??thanks....

darkod
December 6th, 2009, 06:20 PM
This error is common with users who have installed wubi from inside windows with running wubi.exe, which is slightly different to ubuntu.
Can you clarify if you have wubi or ubuntu?

mestizo19
December 6th, 2009, 09:41 PM
What is Wubi???I install inside the WinXP the 9.04 of Ubuntu...and then...i make the upgrate to 9.10...and sudenly...it apearce to me this problem..that's all..But i find one file with a name Wubi....what is that??and what can i do to fix it??

darkod
December 6th, 2009, 09:47 PM
Wubi is exactly what you did, install from within windows. The executive file is called wubi.exe. Look at post number #10 here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1339203

You will need to execute those commands but it depends what you need to use in the /dev/sda1 place. It all depends where did you select wubi to be installed. If it was your first partition C:, then you should use /dev/sda1. If you installed on another partition or second hard drive, you will need to change that accordingly (sda is first drive, sdb second, etc, and the number is the number of the partition on the drive).

mestizo19
December 6th, 2009, 09:57 PM