PDA

View Full Version : Linux for females

roast turkey
December 6th, 2009, 05:03 AM
What would you recommend for female teenagers? I heard of Linux for girls,but I don't know if it is really out there. I like eye-candy. I'm an absolute beginner.

ad_267
December 6th, 2009, 05:07 AM
Hmm, how would that be any different to Linux for everyone else? You can find a whole bunch of themes at http://gnome-look.org. There's a guide for customising the look of Ubuntu/Gnome at http://linuxowns.wordpress.com/2008/06/16/guide-to-customizing-ubuntus-look-and-feel/

bumanie
December 6th, 2009, 06:11 AM
Have a look at this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=930865) from a little over a year ago - may be what you are looking for.

atboom
December 6th, 2009, 05:15 PM
Puppy Linux (http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=puppy) ? cuz it's, you know, cute and stuff?

aysiu
December 6th, 2009, 06:10 PM
What would you recommend for female teenagers? I heard of Linux for girls,but I don't know if it is really out there. I like eye-candy. I'm an absolute beginner.
Not all female teenagers like the same things.

Just install regular Ubuntu and show how they can change the wallpaper and themes. Let them customize Ubuntu themselves. It's easy to customize.

JDShu
December 6th, 2009, 06:16 PM
My 14 year old sister has no problems with regular Ubuntu.

chris200x9
December 6th, 2009, 06:17 PM
some one had to do it (http://hannahmontana.sourceforge.net/Site/Home.html) :D

Bachstelze
December 6th, 2009, 06:19 PM
some one had to do it (http://hannahmontana.sourceforge.net/Site/Home.html) :D

We could have done without it, thank you very much.

Starlight
December 6th, 2009, 06:20 PM
I don't see why there should be a separate Linux distro for females... we're all human, we aren't that different. :) I think Ubuntu is a good distro for everyone, including beginners.

NoaHall
December 6th, 2009, 06:20 PM