PDA

View Full Version : Debian Based? What's the difference?

hizaguchi
February 22nd, 2006, 05:21 PM
I'm kinda new to Linux, and up until now I've just been using Ubuntu because it was the first distro I tried and it was easy to install. But I've been checking out some different live CDs lateley and I've been thinking of installing Elive.

My question is, once you get a Debian based OS installed, what is the difference between them? I mean, if I just changed my repositories from Ubuntu Breezy to Debian Sid, and upgraded everything, would I basically have a Debian system then? Or is the difference deeper than just the packages you have loaded?

I ask because I recently did a Ubuntu server install on my old computer and just followed one of the guides to getting E17 (partially for fun and partially because I don't use half of what's included in the full Ubuntu install). Other than the package repositories that are selected by default, is this any different from just installing Elive?

Thanks, and sorry if I'm in the wrong area. I wasn't exactly sure where this belonged.

heimo
February 22nd, 2006, 05:26 PM
How Ubuntu and Debian are related:
http://www.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/relationship/

hizaguchi
February 22nd, 2006, 06:08 PM
Ok, that was a great read, but it mostly talks about philosophy, update policies, and release timelines. I'm still a little confused. Is a package from the Ubuntu repositories identical to the same package from Debian? Or from anywhere else? Or is there a difference? And if I wanted to know how to install something that I can't find a package for, and there isn't a howto in these forums, could I follow a guide from any other Debian based OS's forums? I guess what I'm saying is, how compatable are the distros with each other?

weasel fierce
February 22nd, 2006, 06:14 PM
I've generally had no problem using debian packages in ubuntu, but every now and again, you may run into things not working properly

heimo
February 22nd, 2006, 06:18 PM