PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Update Help

PJOS13
December 5th, 2009, 07:02 AM
Hi!

I'm new to Ubuntu and I'm using Wubi. 5 minutes ago Ubuntu asked me for an update, something about linux... I didn't payed attention and I just click "OK", then it asked for a restart and I restarted the computer, but when I tried to boot Ubuntu I got a black screen saying that I have to press tab for help to view the valid commands, but I don't know what to do. So, what should I do to get my Ubuntu running again? What command should I use?

PJOS13
December 5th, 2009, 07:26 AM
I have more information, the screen says:

"

GNU GRUB Version 1.97 beta4

[Minimal BASH- like line editing is supported. For the first word. TAB list possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB list possible device/ file completions]

sh.grub>
"
So, how I get Ubuntu running again.

PD: Sorry, my English is terrible...

Saudiboy666
December 5th, 2009, 08:02 AM
i just had the same problem too :(
after the update ubuntu wont start anymore

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 5th, 2009, 08:27 AM
At boot where you can start Ubuntu 9.10, try selecting the previous kernel version. The one before the update today.

PJOS13
December 5th, 2009, 09:25 AM
At boot where you can start Ubuntu 9.10, try selecting the previous kernel version. The one before the update today.

It doesn't let me choose between the kernels. When I boot Ubuntu it just show me that screen...

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 5th, 2009, 10:10 AM
It doesn't let me choose between the kernels. When I boot Ubuntu it just show me that screen...

What version of Ubuntu have you got installed?

What are your computer specs?

May I ask what your first language is?

UPDATE

The issue may relate to grub.cfg found at /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Here is a post giving general information about grub.cfg, look at point 5.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275

This page gives more information, and has the same example as you have given