PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu only allowing itself to occupy 12 GB of my HDD

fiorano94
December 4th, 2009, 10:25 PM
Total noob here. Installing 9.10 on my XP computer. It only allowed me to boot in Demo mode, so i started it up in demo mode and installed from there. When i get to the partitioning part, it will only allow me to let it take up 12 gigs, but it will let XP occupy 67.5. Everytime i move the bar, it stops at 12. Anyway i can let it take up more?

Thanks for the help,

Palmer

phillw
December 4th, 2009, 10:30 PM
Total noob here. Installing 9.10 on my XP computer. It only allowed me to boot in Demo mode, so i started it up in demo mode and installed from there. When i get to the partitioning part, it will only allow me to let it take up 12 gigs, but it will let XP occupy 67.5. Everytime i move the bar, it stops at 12. Anyway i can let it take up more?

Thanks for the help,

Palmer
Hi & welcome

It's possible you have a lot on your XP area - what does XP report as being free ? - And, while you're in XP - Defrag it.

Phill

fiorano94
December 4th, 2009, 10:41 PM
Hi & welcome

It's possible you have a lot on your XP area - what does XP report as being free ? - And, while you're in XP - Defrag it.

Phill

Should i cancel the install and go back to XP?

coffeecat
December 4th, 2009, 10:45 PM
Should i cancel the install and go back to XP?

Yes. The problem is in Windows. This is probably being caused by files sitting in a certain part of the C: partition. The partition can't be shrunk until the files are moved. Which is why phillw suggested defragging the C: drive. Try the Windows defragger, but you may have to use a third party one. The inbuilt Windows one isn't very good.

fiorano94
December 4th, 2009, 11:51 PM
Thanks for the help! Luckily i had all the important stuff from XP backed up on my external...it gave me no other option other than to get rid of XP...oh well. I don't mind as i was going to get rid of XP eventually.

phillw