PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Instalation issues. Need major help

soundout
December 4th, 2009, 04:54 AM
Alright so i'm new to the whole linux thing but i'm experienced with computers. pretty easy to install this OS i mean shoot you read directions and bam there you go. Right well not for me.

lets start off with i have an asus motherboard
Cpu: pentium D 3 GHz
Graphics card: Nvidia geforce 7800 Gt
if that helps

ok so first i started to install it in windows using the disk on a partition i made on my second hard drive. worked just fine install wise. reboot and i select ubuntu and it goes through and installed to the checking partitions and it went to 128% or something. and then a messed up box with the same info came up on the top left side of the original. it looked kinda like someone toook a hammer to that part of the screen if you know what i'm talking about (sorry i'm describing it best i can). but my monitor is just fine.

ok second was to just wipe my second hard drive and install it clean on that. did that went through every part just fine. but when i went to log in the first time i click my name and boom that same hammer to the screen thing came up on the login box. and it froze.

third i tried the live disk. when it was booting up it did get ONE fail message. synch clock
temporary fail in name resolution. alright and so it kept going though but when it went to actually start up my monitor said something to the effect of not recommended settings. and just left that message up.

Possible issue? main harddrive is sata and second hard drive is ide issue?
video card not supported?

i mean would trying a different monitor work?

please give me suggestions and feedback
yes i know i spelled installation wrong

earthpigg
December 4th, 2009, 05:14 AM
can you take a picture of the 'hammer screen' with your cell phone or a digital camera... or find some better way to describe it....?

presence1960
December 4th, 2009, 05:43 AM