PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cant find package

fr3w
December 4th, 2009, 12:33 AM
Hello!
I am kinda new to the linux OP's. I've got it running like i want it to 90%, one thing i miss i the music. Currently im tryin to use the Amarok audio-player, but it wont play my mp3 files.
I found a few answers when i googled for a solution, the mmost common one i found was to install the "gstreamer0.8-mad" package, and this is where my real problem starts.
I cant find this package:/ I can only seem to find "gstreamer0.8-tools";which i cant even install...
I have been googling and looking through forums but havent really found any answer, atleast any that i could understand:P
So it would be awesome if someone could lend me a hand on how to solve this problem? :)

phillw
December 4th, 2009, 12:56 AM
Hello!
I am kinda new to the linux OP's. I've got it running like i want it to 90%, one thing i miss i the music. Currently im tryin to use the Amarok audio-player, but it wont play my mp3 files.
I found a few answers when i googled for a solution, the mmost common one i found was to install the "gstreamer0.8-mad" package, and this is where my real problem starts.
I cant find this package:/ I can only seem to find "gstreamer0.8-tools";which i cant even install...
I have been googling and looking through forums but havent really found any answer, atleast any that i could understand:P
So it would be awesome if someone could lend me a hand on how to solve this problem? :)

Hi and welcome - I had a 'play' with amarok earlier tonight - it was not happy - wouldn't load my mp3 music files etc.
So, I went and got Audacious2 -- works like a dream :-)
Applications --> Ubuntu Software Center --> Sound & Video
(I have a low threshold of 'sod it - I'll go and get a programme that works' level for any packages that don't go get their dependencies when gotten via the likes of software center, or synaptics)
Phill.

presence1960
December 4th, 2009, 01:07 AM
Hello!