PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Having trouble getting my Eee PC 2G Surf to boot Eeebuntu from SD card

merrymoll
December 4th, 2009, 12:30 AM
Evenin' all!

The OS on my little Eee PC 2G Surf recently went gaga, so I installed Eeebuntu NBR via USB. As the hard drive only has 2G it wasn't big enough to contain the new OS, so I copied the boot to my 4G sd card, which works fine.

However - I can't seem to get the machine to boot automatically from the sd card - I have to hit 'Esc' as soon as I turn it on and manually direct it to boot from the sd card - otherwise it just tries to boot from the hard drive.

Can anyone advise me on how to change it so it automatically boots from the sd? I'm a linux/ubuntu newbie so I'll need VERY detailed instructions, especially of what to type if I need to do anything in the terminal.

Thanking you in advance!

winotree
December 4th, 2009, 03:14 AM
On your device does F2 open the BIOS like mine? If so, change the boot order so your USB is priority one like so:

Press F2 at ASUS splash screen; press Boot; press or open Boot Device Priority. Make changes using simple directions in lower right corner [assuming your device is similar to mine]. Press Esc then F10 to save and exit. I think there's one last screen marked OK -- press enter and it'll re-boot.

It'd be a good idea to double-check by shutting down and restarting your device before claiming success. ;)

mrawlings
December 4th, 2009, 03:16 AM
yeyee

merrymoll
December 4th, 2009, 04:09 AM
On your device does F2 open the BIOS like mine? If so, change the boot order so your USB is priority one like so:

Press F2 at ASUS splash screen; press Boot; press or open Boot Device Priority. Make changes using simple directions in lower right corner [assuming your device is similar to mine]. Press Esc then F10 to save and exit. I think there's one last screen marked OK -- press enter and it'll re-boot.