PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Recmmendation for old laptop

Habbam
December 3rd, 2009, 11:44 PM
I'd like to install Ubuntu on a fairly underpowered laptop.

Intel Pentium M (like III) 1.5 Ghz
Memory: 512MB (not possible to upgrade due to faulty motherboard socket)
7200 RPM 60GB hard drive

Should I install the server version because it's the least resource hungry, the netbook version or the desktop version. 32bit edition of course.

I am currently running Windows XP and intend to put Ubuntu in a separate partition.

Btw, I am a total ubuntu newbie.

coffeecat
December 4th, 2009, 12:14 AM
The gnome desktop version of Ubuntu will run quite happily in 512MB RAM. My old laptop had only 512MB RAM and I ran every version of Ubuntu from Dapper (6.06) to Karmic (9.10) on it. You've got plenty of HD space and the processor should be able to cope.

Try running the live CD before installing - yes 512MB is enough to run in live mode as well. Running from the live CD will be much slower than a hard disc install but it will show you whether or not all the hardware is detected and configured properly. Depending on what other hardware you've got, you might want to try 9.10, 9.04 and 8.04 to see which runs best.

rideonXX
December 4th, 2009, 02:55 AM
Will most of the currently available applications run with 3 versions you mentioned trying?

Thanks, kel

mjwilson1313
December 4th, 2009, 03:02 AM
id reccomend 8.04 hardy im using it on a 512k p3 laptop with 20gig and running great

lswb
December 4th, 2009, 03:28 AM
You can install whatever 32bit version you like. I ran my old P3 650Mhz 512MB laptop from ubuntu 5.10 through 8.04 without any performance problems. My current laptop is similar to what you mentioned, 1.4Mhz Pentium M. I do have 1G memory installed but even with 3 or 4 programs open I rarely see memory usage over 300-400 MB and have only seen swap being used a few times in a year.

Also, maybe you've already checked, but perhaps you can install a single 1GB memory chip.