PDA

View Full Version : [latex] centering a minipage on a page

green0eggs
December 3rd, 2009, 09:26 PM
Hello forum!

I really hope it's not annying/too off topic for me to post a LaTeX question here (I'm new to typesetting).

I want to have an introductory quote to a report I'm writing and I want it to have it's own page (which I've managed using the minipage environment) before the abstract (which also has it's own page) but I want to make it centered vertically on the page which I just can't seem to find the command for. Here's my code so far: (hopefully the preamble should be ignoreable and not effect anything)

%&latex

% ======= DOCUMENT PREAMBLE =======
\documentclass[a4paper,10pt]{report}

%sorts out page margins
\usepackage[a4paper]{geometry}
\geometry{top=1.0in, bottom=1.0in, left=1.0in, right=1.0in}
\usepackage{setspace}
\usepackage{amstext}
\usepackage{amsmath}
\usepackage{graphicx}

% Removes anoying word: 'Chapter' from each new chapter
% http://www.latex-community.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=638
\makeatletter
\renewcommand{\@makechapterhead}[1]{%
\vspace*{0 pt}%
{\setlength{\parindent}{0pt} \raggedright \normalfont
\bfseries\Huge
\ifnum \value{secnumdepth}>1
\if@mainmatter\thechapter \, \fi%
\fi
#1\par\nobreak\vspace{20 pt}}}
\makeatother
\setcounter{secnumdepth}{4}

%chooses nice sans serif font
\renewcommand{\rmdefault}{cmss}

% ======= TITLE PAGE VALUES =======
\title{\begin{doublespace}\textsf{\textbf{\begin{H uge}Really impressive report title\end{Huge}\end{doublespace}}}}
\author{\begin{LARGE}\textsf{Mr Greeneggs}\end{LARGE} \\ \begin{large}\textsf{under supervision of Prof. Brainy\end{large}}}
\\
\date{\textsf{January 2010}\\\begin{normalsize}\textsf{version date: \today}}\end{normalsize}

% ======= PREAMBLE ENDS =======
\usepackage{varioref}
\usepackage{color}

\begin{document}

% ======= TITLE PAGE =======
\maketitle

% ======= OPENING QUOTATION =======
\begin{center}
\begin{minipage}{0.5\textwidth}
\begin{center}
\textbf{Opening Quote}