PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble Installing Interactive Brokers TWS

pablosanchez
December 3rd, 2009, 03:14 PM
Hi all,

First I'll state that I'm a complete noob and just trying out ubuntu as I've had about enough of Windows, and trying to move my daytrading items across to ubuntu.

I'm trying to run the software below in the standalone version.

http://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/p.php?f=tws

I've got all the jave reqs. (i think...), but can't seem to install as per the IB instructions

Could anyone point me in the right direction, any help would be much appreciated.

cheers,

pablo

marbss
December 26th, 2009, 11:08 PM
I'm still looking for a solution myself.

Trying to figure out how to install the stand alone version - the web version works fine in ubuntu 9.10.

going to search the forums at elitetrader.com.... pls let me know if you find a solution.

google "TWS linux" or "TWS ubuntu site:elitetrader.com" no time left to check for today.

marbss
December 28th, 2009, 05:41 PM
first make sure java is installed... other than that the only thing I can get running is TWS Web.

http://squidoptions.com/2007/03/26/installing-ib-tws-on-linux/

here's the IB forums. https://www.interactivebrokers.com/smf/index.php?action=search2

If anyone has the installation instructions for the standalone Unix TWS for Ubuntu. Please post.

mitsugiri
August 3rd, 2010, 06:56 AM
I know this is very belated but did you figure out the solution? If not I recently went through this and I can post the solution if you want to get the standalone TWS app working on Ubuntu.

TraderLars
August 18th, 2010, 11:58 AM
Mitsugiri, would you mind posting that TWS + Ubunu solution please.

Thanks

mitsugiri
August 18th, 2010, 03:35 PM
Here's a step by step:

1. Make sure that you have a recent version of Java Runtime Environment installed.
2. Go to http://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/control/systemstandalone.php?os=unix&ib_entity=llc and download the standalone app for unix.