PDA

View Full Version : i am SICK of "absolute beginner talk"... "how do i install ubuntu with a cd drive??!"

earthpigg
December 3rd, 2009, 08:50 AM
and so forth.

i used to be very eager to help.

yes, this is a horribly immature and counterproductive rant.

but, recently, all i want to do when i see the vast vast majority of those threads is yell "do you know how to google!!!????"...

...which is horribly rude, and quite counter to how we do things here.

no, gparted cannot partition your vista/7 partition using the default values without breaking things. this is well documented.

no, you do not need an anti-virus as long as you stick to the repos and aren't running a mail server. yes, really.

yes, the ubuntu installer expects you to move the slider over to a figure greater than 2.5gb after you select "install alongside windows".

no, the world will not explode if you do not have the super ultra mega deluxe partitioning scheme.

yes, running "sudo random-command-from-random-website" will break your system.

yes, 9.10 (which is 30 seconds old) is less stable than 9.04 and 8.40 (8 months and 20 months, respectively).

yes, this is the link to the ubuntu hardware compatibility list that i found on google as the first result.

well. this is the cafe, not any of the support forums. so, it is better that i take my frustration out here than there. thank you for accommodating me.

rawr.

earthpigg
December 3rd, 2009, 08:51 AM
seriously, i know this is totally immature, counterproductive, useless, and i know this accomplishes nothing.

i really do.

but maybe saying this out loud will get me back into absolute beginner talk and helping folks out? i dunno.

kelvin spratt
December 3rd, 2009, 08:54 AM
Just remember you probably asked silly questions to others once.

u.b.u.n.t.u
December 3rd, 2009, 08:56 AM

Go for a walk.

Khakilang
December 3rd, 2009, 09:18 AM
A lot of people do silly thing and ask silly question. Thats why there is thing call vacation. Take a break.